External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) includes diverse representatives from academic institutions, industry, and former national lab scientists. They will meet annually to be updated on HEPCAT activities, and will make recommendations to the Executive Committee in the areas of education, research scope, DEI, finances, or any other topics deemed to be of concern.

Prof. Henry Frisch

Professor of Physics, University of Chicago

Prof. Frisch obtained his B.A. in physics from Harvard in 1966, and his Ph.D. from UC Berkeley in 1971. He has been a professor at the University of Chicago since then. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and held a joint appointment with Argonne National Lab for the period 2009-11. He was one of the original scientists who proposed the CDF experiment at the Tevatron and carried out a long and impressive research program using 1.8 TeV proton-proton collisions. He led the development of Large Area Picosecond Photon Detectors (LAPPD) that are now finding use in experiments such as ANNIE at Fermilab. Prof. Frisch has served in numerous national panels and has been an effective advocate for high energy physics.


Dr. Taylor Lawrence

Former VP, Raytheon, and currently an Independent Investor and member of Caltech Board.

Dr. Taylor W. Lawrence is currently an independent investor focusing on venture funding of biotech startups in the areas of immuno-oncology and novel vaccines. Lawrence is a Trustee of the California Institute of Technology and serves as chairman of the Executive Compensation Committee. He is a former member of the Defense Science Board and vice chairman emeritus of the Air Force Studies Board of the National Academies. He is a fellow and lifetime member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and serves on the Boards of the Roundabout Theatre Company in New York City and the Arizona Commerce Authority. Lawrence retired from Raytheon Company in 2019 after spending 35 years in the aerospace, defense, and national security industries. His tenure included 11 years as President of the largest missile manufacturer in the world, Raytheon Missile Systems, with annual sales of $9B in 2019. Prior to Raytheon, Lawrence was sector vice president and general manager of the C4ISR and Space Sensors division for Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems. Prior to Northrop Grumman, Lawrence spent time working for the US Government. His assignments included staff director for the Select Committee on Intelligence for the United States Senate, deputy director of the Information Systems Office of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), and director of technology for the Defense Airborne Reconnaissance Office in the Pentagon. Lawrence earned a bachelor’s degree in physics from Caltech in 1986 and holds a master’s degree and doctorate in applied physics from Stanford University. In 1996, Lawrence was honored with the Secretary of Defense Medal for Meritorious Civilian Service. In 2013, he received the Medal for the Advancement of Research from ASM International.



Prof. Cherry Murray

Formerly VP Bell Labs, Deputy Dir. for Science and Technology LLNL, Dean of Engineering at Harvard, and currently Professor of Physics at University of Arizona, Tucson, and Deputy Director of Research at Biosphere2.

She obtained B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Her research interests evolved from experimental condensed matter and surface physics to nanotechnology, innovation, R&D of telecommunications networks, to science, technology, national security and energy policy, science diplomacy and global sustainable development. From 1978 to 2004, Murray held a number of research and executive positions at Bell Laboratories, eventually becoming Senior Vice President for Physical Sciences and Wireless Research.  She then served at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory as Principal Associate Director for Science and Technology from 2004 to 2009.  She was dean of Harvard University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences from 2009 until 2014. Murray served as the Director of the US Department of Energy Office of Science, from 2015 until 2017, overseeing $6 billion in competitive scientific research as well as the management of 10 national laboratories. She then became Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy and Professor of Physics at Harvard until her retirement in 2019. A member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, co-chair of the InterAcademy Partnership, and co-chair of the United Nations 10-Member Group in support of the Technology Facilitation Mechanism, Murray has received the US National Medal of Technology and Innovation as well as the American Physical Society Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award and George E. Pake Prize.  She was President of the American Physical Society in 2009.


Prof. Alice White

Formerly Bell Labs Chief Scientist, currently Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering at Boston University

Alice White joined the College of Engineering of Boston University in 2013 from Bell Labs, where she held various leadership positions including Director of Materials Physics Research, Director of Integrated Photonics Research, VP of the Physical Technologies Research Center, President of the NJ Nanotechnology Consortium, location leader for Bell Labs North America, and finally Chief Scientist. She has a Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University and a broad technical background in experimental solid-state physics and fabrication of optical components. In 1991, she received the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award of the American Physical Society for her work on compound formation using ion implantation.  She was named a Bell Labs Fellow in 2001 for her work in “developing and applying novel integrated photonic device technologies in advanced optical networks”. With over 135 publications and 10 patents issued/pending, she is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the IEEE Photonics Society, and Optica (formerly known as the Optical Society of America).  At BU, she leads a department with 50 faculty members.  In 2014, she established the Multiscale Laser Lithography Lab and is developing mechanical metamaterials for biological studies using a laser direct write technology.  This research is one thrust of a recently established BU-led NSF Engineering Research Center (ERC), CELL-MET.  In addition to her role in Mechanical Engineering, she is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, a Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and a Professor of Physics, as well as an affiliate of the BU Photonics Center and BU Nano.


Prof. John Womersley, Chair

Formerly head of STFC in the UK, Director General of ESS, and currently a visiting professor at Oxford.

Professor John Womersley is a graduate of Cambridge and Oxford, and has played a leading role in particle physics in Europe and the United States including the D-Zero experiment at Fermilab and the CMS experiment at CERN. From 2011 to 2016, he led the Science and Technology Facilities Council, the UK funding agency for particle physics, astronomy and large research facilities, where he delivered flagship projects including the Square Kilometre Array telescope, the Hartree Centre for high performance computing, and the Science and Innovation campuses at Harwell and Daresbury. From 2016 to 2021 he was Director General of the European Spallation Source, a €3B project to build an accelerator-driven neutron scattering facility ten times more powerful than anything available today, to address key research challenges for society and the economy. He is currently a visiting professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Oxford.